True Crocodiles

 (Family: Crocodylidae)

The 25 species of this family are all semi-aquatic carnivorous predators, which are specially adapted for feeding underwater by modified palatine and pterygoid bones and a fleshy valve that seals off the respiratory system from the mouth when it is opened underwater. Most species have thick scaly skin. There are 2 species in Australia, the larger Saltwater Crocodile (see below) has been responsible for many fatal attacks on humans in northern Australia.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this Page...

If you found this page useful, please share it with your friends