Hawks and Eagles

(Family Accipitridae)

Twenty-two species, including six endemics and three vagrants, falling into several groups including eagles, sea-eagles, goshawks, harriers and kites. The Osprey Pandion haliaetus is included here, but is separated by some taxonomists into its own family Pandionidae. All are carnivorous, with a hook-shaped bill and sharp claws, the larger species have broad wings for soaring flight.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this Page...

If you found this page useful, please share it with your friends