Ducks, Geese and Swans

(Family Anatidae)

Within Australia, there are 28 members in this group of fully web-footed waterfowl, including nine endemics, the Blue-billed Duck Oxyura australis, Pink-eared Duck Malacorhynchus membranaceus, Cape Barren Goose Cereopsis novaehollandiae, Black Swan Cygnus atratus, Australian Shelduck Tadorna tadornoides, Chestnut Teal Anas castanea, Freckled Duck Stictonetta naevosa, Musk Duck Biziura lobata and the Australian Wood Duck Chenonetta jubata. The Northern Mallard A. platyrhynchos is introduced and both the Mute Swan Cygnus olor and the Canada Goose Branta canadensis are self-introduced vagrants from populations occurring in New Zealand. Of the 19 other species, 13 are non-endemic breeding residents, while the remaining six have been recorded as vagrants.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this Page...

If you found this page useful, please share it with your friends